Mark's Musings

Mark Atkinson – Content Writer

Escaping the ‘what’s in it for me’ syndrome

When writing editorial copy, getting industry sources to contribute their viewpoints can have its trials and tribulations. Some can be relied upon to send through their comments on time. Others take more coaxing, but come through at the eleventh hour. Others still promise the earth but never deliver.

A fourth group has a separate agenda: “What’s in it for me?” I’m sometimes tempted to ask why there has to be a payback – good industry exposure is good for business. I do explain that the publication is well-known, has a good regional circulation and will provide excellent publicity. Still, those with the ‘what’s in it for me’ mentality invariably decline.

At the other end of the scale, I remember writing for a well-known GCC marketing publication. There was an upwardly-mobile digital marketing professional who would jump at every chance to provide her very valuable viewpoints with considerable time involved. She was soon promoted into another firm, and thanked me for giving her the exposure she had needed to climb the next rung.

On another note, I recently had a request from a marketing agency client that has provided me some high-value work in the past. He’d written the content for his updated website, but wasn’t happy with it in various ways and would I look at it. “I don’t have a budget for this,” he confessed. “No issues,” I said. “Email it through and I’ll make the necessary edits.” As it turns out it was more time-consuming than I first imagined, but that was fine. What was in it for me? It was a gesture of goodwill and a thank you for business passed on so far.

Another digital-whizz contact of mine is happy to spend the time showing me all things social media – and knows that if he has any content requirements I’m happy to oblige.

In this world of social media, relationship networking, and where doing business comprises so many more intangibles, the ‘what’s in it for me’ syndrome may be one for the history books.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2013 by in Business general and tagged , , .
Article Builder Pro

Autoblogging & Article Writing The Easy Way!

Writing for the Web

Reflections on readings for English 572

claire gibson

private thoughts in a public forum

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Apartments To Rent In Dubai

sponsored by Holidays-shop.com

Mark's Musings

Mark Atkinson - Content Writer

